<b>Tel:</b> +356 21374378 Tel: +356 21374378
Bolol Reġjonali

Bolol Reġjonali

The Eastern Regional Council in collaboration with Malta Post, will issue a series of personalized stamps, highlighting flora and iconic sites pertaining to each locality. The composition of the stamps is based off commissioned paintings by Ms. Lara Vella. Each locality within the Eastern Regional Council will have a painting dedicated; including an endemic/indigenous plant species which may be present within or has historical relations to that locality, and a cultural/iconic building/monument present within that locality. The aim of this project was to bring more recognition to endemic/indigenous plant species and to highlight cultural aspects of each locality.
The launch of this project will be held in exhibition format on the 21st of October, at the Malta Postal Museum Arts Hub in Valletta – chosen due to the philatelist element of this project. The exhibition will be open to the public for two weeks after the launch date.

The below are the plant species and the locations which feature in the 12 paintings:
Plant: Water Figwort (Scrophularia auriculata)
Place: Old Railway Station

Plant: Maltese Pyramidal Orchid (Anacamptis pyramidalis subsp. urvilleanan)
Place: Pembroke Clock Tower

St. Julians
Plant: Evergreen Oak (Quercus ilex)
Place: Balluta Buildings

Plant: Maltese Cliff Orache (Cremnophyton lanfrancoi)
Place: Il-Fortizza

Plant: Bay Laurel (Laurus nobilis)
Place: Bieb Ta’ Forti Manoel

Plant: Maltese Ferrule (Ferula Melitensis)
Place: L-Għajn Tal-Ħasselin

Plant: Showy Chalicevine (Solandra grandiflora)
Place: Villa Frere

Ta’ Xbiex
Plant: Bramble (Rubus ulmifolius)
Place: Knisja San Gwann Tas-Salib

Plant: Rosemary (Rosmarinus officinalis)
Place: Triq it-Timu, Torri

Plant: Maltese Orange Tree (Citrus sinensis L.)
Place: Torri Belveder

Plant: Mediterranean Thyme (Thymbra capitata)
Place: Fort Madliena

Plant: Sandarac Gum Tree (Tetraclinis articulata)
Place: Għar San Brincat

Opening Hours

Opening Hours

Monday to Friday 07:00 to 15:15